REVIEWS FROM OUR PSML PARENTS

Facebook Reviews

Park Slope Music Lessons
5.0
powered by Facebook
Nina Varner
Nina Varner
2018-03-06T17:31:00+0000
Kashawn Alexander
Kashawn Alexander
2018-01-13T15:59:09+0000
Maria Barrera-Agarwal
Maria Barrera-Agarwal
2017-12-18T23:04:50+0000
Andrew is truly a very inspired and inspiring teacher. His system works, it is beautiful and it is effective. Thanks to his guidance, kids not only enjoy learning how to play an instrument; they also achieve a sense of accomplishment and joy in doing so. I recommend Park Slope Music Lessons wholeheartedly.read more
Chris Erikson
Chris Erikson
2017-10-23T17:28:33+0000
Andrew taught piano and then guitar to both my son and daughter, and he was great with both of them -- energetic, attentive and patient. He's got a good sense of humor and communicates a love of music, and he struck a good balance between finding things they enjoyed doing and making sure they were learning and progressing. He's easy to deal with and communicative with parents; I appreciated his emails with links to articles or practice tips, and his efforts to create community among his students through recitals or the occasional musical get-together. Highly recommended.read more
Julie Schwetlick
Julie Schwetlick
2017-01-16T14:20:05+0000
My daughter started studying first piano and then guitar with Andrew when she was six. Andrew does a fantastic job engaging kids, pushing them to advance while keeping the experience fun. The color coded finger system is very accessible to them, and the progress is fantastic. When over the years it became clear that classical music wasn't my daughter's 'thing' Andrew went above and beyond to find pop songs that she would like and adapted them to her level on the piano. The recitals always gave her such sense of achievement of having mastered her songs - and in front of an audience. We have since moved away, and when the music teacher at her new school school asked her to bring in some examples of what she played, the teacher apparently exclaimed: "Wow, who is your piano teacher?". I would also like to recommend Andrew's IBook "Play Piano for Kids". It is an awesome introduction to the piano that my kids have loved.read more
Laura Cooley
Laura Cooley
2016-11-11T13:22:34+0000
My son studied piano and voice with Andrew for several years, and loved it. He learned a lot from an excellent teacher, and still uses his skills today. Thanks Andrew!read more
Natalia R Tunon
Natalia R Tunon
2016-10-31T16:39:32+0000
Last April 2016, my daughter 6 yo started taking for her first time piano lessons and by June she was able to participate in a performance singing and playing two songs with two hands. I don't have too much musical skills but i know when a method is effective so I was very happy to witness this. We love Andrew and his way of teaching. He is engaging, funny and understands kids mind. This last September I signed up also my son, 9 yo, and he is happily learning guitar!read more

Yelp Reviews

Park Slope Music Lessons
5.0
Based on 1 Reviews
Linda F.
Linda F.
2018-09-15 04:58:43
Unusually well-run music school, billing and scheduling is a breeze. Andrew hires great teachers and has good advice about getting kids to practice.

Google Reviews

Michelle Minovi
Michelle Minovi
16:53 12 Sep 17
Andrew is a wonderful teacher! My daughter studied piano with him for years and learned to love the instrument and all sorts of different music. He was very professional, thorough, kind and flexible-everything you would want in a piano teacher. She learned jazz, blues, classical and pop. He's take the time to connect piano and music to your child in an individual way. Cannot recommend him enough.
Natalia Tuñón
Natalia Tuñón
16:46 31 Oct 16
Park Slope Music Lessons/Andrew's method inspired my two kids to engaged with the music, its not easy to practice everyday music when there is not an habit in your home, and now they are loving play piano and guitar. Andrew is very organized, makes it fun and explains music in a kids friendly way.
Raindrop Services
Raindrop Services
20:40 25 Oct 16
My 6 year old boy has been going to Park Slope Music Lessons for about 2 years. He was showing early interest for sounds and music and was asking to go to music school to learn to play the organ. So we looked around. Prior to meeting Andrew we were struggling with 2 other music teachers and we've also done trial sessions with many others. I kept growing increasingly frustrated because none of the previous teachers accomplished any results, while at home my kid was showing progress with me trying to teach him on my own. I had heard of Andrew but because of his demand we were on a wait list. Then one day a spot opened up. After the first lesson my kid (at the time 4 years old) was playing the keyboard with 10 fingers. Throughout the year he kept learning new materials and within a year surpassed my limited skills on the keyboard. And it's all because Andrew has a method that works for kids. Since I've also seen other students accomplish a lot in a short time I know my kid is not an exception. For these reasons I give Andrew two enthusiastic thumbs up.
Aparna Pappu
Aparna Pappu
19:06 25 Oct 16
Andrew/Park Slope Music Lessons has done a WONDERFUL job of not just teaching my two sons music (piano and guitar both theory and practice) but also instilled a great love of music. The kids love practicing because Andrew makes it fun. The breadth and depth (from classical to rock and jazz) that is covered really opens the kids eyes to the joy of music. I cannot recommend it more - if you can get in you should!
Albert Camhi
Albert Camhi
17:43 25 Oct 16
My son studied piano with Andrew and loved playing. Andrew's love of music and kids is what energizes and motivates the kids. My son IS a musician today --- not professionally as he is 14, but he is in 2 orchestras. Andrew is a big reason that music is one of the biggest joys of my son's life. Many kids have studied and are studying at Park Slope Music Lessons and so, the school is expanding. I have complete confidence that Andrew sought and found teachers who will inspire other kids.
See All Reviews